A shout out back to you, Tony Kornheiser & PTI

November 7, 2012 § Leave a comment

The day before yesterday, Monday Nov 5th, was the first day the New York Tri-State area felt like it was starting to get back to work post-Hurricane Sandy.  And it felt great.   Just like the old saying: you never know how much you love/need something until it’s not there.  Well, I need to work! 🙂

After a full day, I was ready to happily dedicate my night to my now over-full inbox and various social media platforms.  I started by skimming through comments on this blog and saw one that I thought for a moment might be spam.  It read:

From: Bonnie Berko

Date: November 5, 2012

Allison, listen for your shout out at the end of PTI today! Send more product!

In hindsight I can’t see how I ever thought this was spam but in that moment and in the context of a whisky blog, I didn’t know what “PTI” was, nor who Bonnie Berko is (sorry Bonnie!), nor knew what “send more product” really meant.  More?! When did I ever send her any Brenne?

Thanks to google for quickly clearing this up for me.  Bonnie Berko is the producer of ESPN’s Pardon the Interruption show with Tony Kornheiser and Michael Wilbon – which is one of the top shows on ESPN.  Feeling confused and excited, I quickly tuned in and caught the end of the show with Tony calling out my name.

huh? shock. giggle. breathe. question. smile. belly laugh.

Something like 3 million people tune in to PTI nightly.  I put my computer on my lap and watched in awe as tweets, g-chats, facebook messages, etc from friends, acquaintances and total strangers started coming in.  What does one do when that happens?  Well, if you’re me, you slide off the couch and have yourself a little impromptu dance party!

Funny Dancing Stickman

Then I put the pieces together.  A very enthusiastic friend bought a case (6 bottles) of Brenne the week it launched.  I then find out that he sent a few bottles down to Tony Kornheiser who proceeded to mention it on his other ESPN show: The Tony Kornheiser Show.  Then he mentioned it again … and again.

And then Tony gives me, “Allison Patel, Whisky Woman” a shout-out on Pardon the Interruption!

ESPN PTI Episode 11/5/12 … go to around minute 22:25 for Tony’s shout out

http://espn.go.com/espnradio/play?id=8597874

So Tony, if you’re reading, here’s my shout-out back to you.  THANK YOU for liking Brenne French Single Malt whisky and for continuing to share your thoughts with your audiences.  I sincerely appreciate it.  One person can make a difference.  You’re awesome.

Cheers!

#DreamComingTrue  Go Small Business!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Love hearing from you! Please comment here:

What’s this?

You are currently reading A shout out back to you, Tony Kornheiser & PTI at The Whisky Woman.

meta

