Easy hostess gift: Whiskey+Book: The World Atlas of Whisky, by Dave Broom

July 27, 2011 § 7 Comments

I think about writing this post every other day so I figured I should just sit down and get it out of my head! πŸ™‚

One of my all-time favorite Whisky books is Dave Broom’s The World Atlas of Whisky. It is beautifully laid out and the photos are as stunning as the content is delicious (truly!). The information is clear, concise, entertaining and really makes you thirsty for you know what! Dave Broom did a fantastic job in creating something that is both educational and enjoyable.

Book by Dave Broom

Click on the photo to be taken to the Barnes&Nobel site

This is the kind of book I think everyone (whisky lover or not) should have in their home. Β It’s a perfect coffee table book and is great for the novice or connoisseur of the spirit.

Do you have the pleasure of visiting a friend’s summer home this August? Β Why not give a copy as a hostess gift? Β …And if the weekend calls for a little something extra (as I think all weekends should!), bring a bottle of your favorite whisky to go along with it!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Easy hostess gift: Whiskey+Book: The World Atlas of Whisky, by Dave Broom

  • G-LO says:

    Yo WW!

    This is brilliant advice. I just read his contribution to “Beer Hunter, Whisky Chaser” (the book dedicated to the late, great Michael Jackson. Not the singer of course). A damn fine writer! If you’re not doing it already, you should follow him on Twitter.

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • Hey G-LO!
      Thanks for the comment – glad you like how I think πŸ™‚ Aside from the occasional contribution here & there, I actually haven’t read too much by Ian Buxton (although I know who he is) but I will def pick this up thanks to your rec. Funny, I just started following Dave Broom on twitter earlier this week. As for MJ, I think that is actually his full name, “Michael Jackson … not the singer” How many times has that been said either by you or to you? Haha, clearly a good name.

      Great to hear from you!

      • G-LO says:

        Beer Hunter/Whisky Chaser has been a very interesting read so far. Articles by Buxton, Broom, Hansell, and many more about beer and whisky. Great stuff!

        So let’s see… not only do I drink, but I also talk, read, and write about drinking. I guess as long as I can multi-task and not JUST drink, then I guess I’m doing ok. Heh. πŸ™‚

        • HAHAHA, a TRUE multi-tasker indeed! I think you’re doing just fine. Drinking Japan by Chris Bunting (an AWESOME author with an AWESOME blog (Nonjatta) in case it’s not on your radar) has been my pick up/put down/pick up read for the summer. I’ll throw Beer Hunter/Whisky Chaser into the rotation (with Beer Blast, by Philip Van Munching & Kitchen Confidential, Anthony Bourdain … oldies but goodies). Anything else on your summer reading list you’re enjoying?

      • G-LO says:

        Kitchen Confidential is definitely a classic! I have read it at least 3 times. Gotta love Bourdain. A Cook’s Tour and Nasty Bits are also great. Will have to pick up some of his fiction/mystery books some day (Bone in the Throat). Should be amusing.

        Drinking Japan sounds interesting. I need to get my hands on more of Michael Jackson’s writings. Would also like to pick up Imbibe by David Wondrich at some point. I don’t usually go for non-fiction, but food and drink books always manage to hold my attention. They also leave me hungry and thirsty. But that’s another story altogether. πŸ™‚

        • G-LO,
          You are so right – on all fronts!!! I’ve taken lots on notes from these comments .. and now I’m off to the book store! (…followed by the grocery store … followed by the liquor store…) πŸ˜‰ lol. Thanks for all of the great ideas!

          I follow the Imbibe magazine on my company twitter account (@localinfusions) but haven’t read David Wondrich’s book, are they related, do you know?
          -ww

      • G-LO says:

        You are very welcome! Always available to help a fellow whisky lover!

        As far as Imbibe (the magazine) goes, I took a look at their website and couldn’t find out who the editors, managers, etc. were. I did a quick search on their site and did find out that Mr. Wondrich has written an article or two for them. Not sure if his Imbibe relationship extends any further that. He also writes quite extensively for Esquire.

        Hope you had a successful shopping trip!

Love hearing from you! Please comment here:

What’s this?

You are currently reading Easy hostess gift: Whiskey+Book: The World Atlas of Whisky, by Dave Broom at The Whisky Woman.

meta

