You make the difference

January 29, 2013 § 2 Comments

I’m hoping years from now I’ll look back and think, why was I ever scared to launch this? But it’s only natural and let’s face it, one’s level of fear or nervousness in having the public first witness anything by the creative individual – from a new painting to a new collection to a new whisky – can often dictate how high the level of risk you’re taking truly is.

But now that Brenne is off the ground, I feel lighter.  And perhaps you’ve heard me say this before but I think it’s worth saying again: I wake up grateful every. single. day. YOU have embraced what I’m doing, supporting me along the way and continue to spread the word and share Brenne. I truly can’t thank you all enough.

This past Sunday evening, in between loads of laundry,  I received an email from the whisky aficionado Matthew Sheinberg, of the awesome Manhattan-based liquor store McCabes (seriously, he has built one heck of a great whisky collection in that store) … but I digress… In his email, he told me how a woman had come into the store specifically to purchase a bottle of Brenne and explained how she had enjoyed it recently in a cocktail (by the very-creative mixologist Thomas Favorule) at the W Hotel in Union Square NYC.  The email ended with “thought you’d like to know that your baby is making waves.”

Smiles all around.

Water_Drop

Then I started to think about all of the pieces that had to come together for that one single moment to happen.  While knowing that they are able to present their clients to a very new experience and set themselves apart from the competition across the street, when you really think about it, both McCabes and the W Hotel had to take a leap of faith with me and my whisky.  They had to have the foresight to see it’s success and hash out a plan for how they were going to be able to move the product.  These guys are part of the first 50 accounts in the world to stock Brenne and knew off the bat, as good as they believe it to be, that most people walking into their establishments won’t know what Brenne is.  Every bottle and every dram is a hand-sell by themselves and their associates.  THIS fact combined with the sheer number of different alcoholic beverages that are available today is why getting placements are so hard. It’s why each time a new account stocks Brenne, I take a moment to reflect on my journey and let the good feelings sink in.  And this thought is also why, upon reading that email, I really truly jumped up and danced.  Someone who I never met walked into a store specifically to buy Brenne. So cool.

Thanks to social media, I am continually hearing from strangers who have found Brenne one way or another and continue to enjoy it and seek it out.  You all are putting the drops in the water and it’s starting to ripple out.  I know these are all very tiny baby steps when you look at the giant picture but they are such important moments they can’t be overlooked.

The odds are great that a new alcohol brand will fail.  But despite the enormous mountains that are in front of me to take Brenne to the next (and necessary) levels, those still aren’t my odds. I can feel it …

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to You make the difference

  • Josh Feldman says:

    The amazing thing is that you were able to find a spirt with real merit and a strikingly new and original flavor profile – at all. Big companies have real problems doing that. Then, even more amazingly, this spirit has a lovely, gentle, feminine quality that is reminiscent of you personally. What a brilliant stroke of fortune that you can launch your own brand so in accordance with who you are. It deserves mammoth success and I believe sincerely that you will realize that fully.

    • Josh, I truly appreciate your very kind words. THANK YOU for all the support you have given me! It’s a scary undertaking at times but very rewarding when people such as yourself understand and appreciate what it is I’m trying to do.

      CHEERS to you and many, many thanks!
      Allison

Love hearing from you! Please comment here:

What’s this?

You are currently reading You make the difference at The Whisky Woman.

meta

