The Singleton 12 year Single Malt Scotch Whisky of Glendullan

September 28, 2011 § 21 Comments

That’s quite a long name for a whisky with a relatively short finish… But let’s start at the beginning, shall we?

The Glendullan Distillery is located in Speyside and is currently owned by Diageo. It was established in 1897 and was apparently King Edward VII’s favorite whisky (you remember him; the “Edwardian” period and the peacekeeper in Europe …4 years after his death was the start of WW1 and the end of his era, so long corsets!).

I am no King, or Queen for that matter, but I will say that the Singleton 12yr is a nicely balanced, well rounded Single Malt that, for $30-$40USD could easily be one’s great daily dram.

FACTS: 40% abv, aged for 12 years in sherry & bourbon casks.

NOSE: Vanilla birthday cake and brewed black tea, definitely some rum notes and a bit of green apple.

PALATE: A good, smooth start with nice bright tannins in the middle.  There is some burnt sugar in the taste too.  There is also a faint spice that I can’t quite put my finger on.  I tried adding a bit of water but it went too flat too quickly.

FINISH: The oak and burnt sugar linger for just a bit on the sides of the tongue.

Overall, I think this is an easy Single Malt to have around … for both your senses and your wallet.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 21 Responses to The Singleton 12 year Single Malt Scotch Whisky of Glendullan

  • Great tasting notes. Is this new? We have the Singleton of Dufftown over here. I wonder how the range ties together. Is “Singleton” an umbrella brand?

    • Hi Patrick,
      Thanks for commenting! I appreciate your question – I saw the “Singleton of Dufftown” appear in online searches when I was researching the Glundullan. But first, no, the Glendullan is not new, it was launched here in 2007. Apparently, there are actually 3 different “Singleton’s” sold in 3 different markets; Dufftown for Great Britain and Duty Free in the EU, Glendullan is for the USA and “The Singleton” or “Singleton of Glen Ord” is for Taiwan, China, Korea and Asia Duty Free, according to Diageo’s website.

      As for tasting notes, I just found a post by Intoxicologist (click here) who actually compared all three back in 2008.

      I am intrigued and can certainly see myself picking up the other 2 during travels, I’d like to understand the taste differences for myself. Have you tried the Dufftown?

      • Great, thanks for the info.

        I’ve had the Dufftown on a few occasions. Diageo are pushing it big-time over here. I think they see it as a gateway to their more expensive single malts. It’s solid, middle-of-the-flavour-road stuff, enjoyable but not hugely interesting.

        • That’s interesting. I don’t think there is any push on the Glundullan over here – I actually found this on sale. I thought it was a bit odd how limited Diageo’s site is of information about the Singleton. Oh well, I guess that’s what us bloggers are for ;). Thanks for replying!

  • G-LO says:

    Yo WW!

    Nice review! I’ve seen this bottle on numerous occasions and I believe that I tried it at one of the Extravaganza events. Sounds like a a good middle of the week, after work whisky. I’ll try it again at this year’s Extravaganza.

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • Hey G-LO!
      Thank you! I’d be curious to hear your thoughts on this one too. I agree, it’s a great middle of the week (after work optional!) whisky and, in my opinion, an easy one to serve to guests if you have a wide range of palets and tastes to please (the Yamazaki 12 being my 1st choice in this scenario).
      Thanks!
      WW

  • Hi WW

    this side of the pond this whisky is very easy to come by and further ensures that it truly is a mid week / afterwork / everyday whisky to enjoy. Its pricepoint over here is in the lowest end of the single malts which doesnt really do the smooth nature of the Singleton justice. I for one really like it.

    • Hey HoG!
      Thanks for sharing your thoughts! I agree with you and think it’s good to have an easy-to-drink / easy-on-the-wallet single malt out there. I’m always inviting people over to come drink whisky with me and I often find that after the first 1 or 2 (or 3) tastes of the more complex and harder to find whiskies, it’s good to have one that I can then just pour liberally as we sit around and catch up.

      So glad you joined the conversation!
      -WW

  • As a gal just learning about whisky, you had me at vanilla birthday cake. I look to you for direction so I don’t just buy the same old bottle of Jack. I’m new to learning about whisky but I like it so much and your posts are awesome! Keep em coming!

    • Hey Dish Babe!
      Thanks for stopping by! I’m so happy to hear you’ve just come over to the dark side … dark spirits, that is ;). I’m flattered that you’re putting your whisky-trust in me and will certainly help in any way I can. If you happen to pick up a bottle or get a taste of this – I’d love to know what you think. Just remember, the only wrong way to drink whisky is to not drink it at all!

      If you’re curious and have a moment, there’s a really interesting conversation going on right now about how to get into whisky (on a budget, no less!) on another wordpress blog “It’s Just The Booze Dancing…” click HERE for the link. At any rate, welcome!
      -WW

  • Doc Martin says:

    The Singleton of Glendullan was originally released to be the “introductory malt” for a younger generation of scotch drinkers. After a nice launch, it got lost among Diageo’s other malts. Unfortunately, I have it on a good source that the Singleton of Glendullan will be phased out over the next year in North America, so you may want to stock up on it. The Singleton of Glen Ord, however, is doing very nicely over in Asia, and even released a limited 35yo edition a few years back. All three Singletons (Glendullan, Glen Ord & Dufftown) are non-peated minglings of sherry & American oak casks, each with a different percentage (Glendullan is roughly 5% sherry cask to 95% American oak cask). The old Glendullan distillery stands next to the more boxy new distillery in Dufftown. At one time they operated side by side for almost 13 years, even though no two distilleries are supposed to operate under the same name. This ceased in the early 1980s. Glendullan was the 7th distillery built in Dufftown back in 1897, giving rise to the saying “Rome was built on 7 hills, but Dufftown was built on 7 stills!” The term Singleton refers to the last cask in a batch/warehouse, and was originally used for the Auchroisk single malt back in the late 80s/early 90s because it was thought that this distillery’s name was a bit tough on most American’s tongues. Both distilleries still stand in a wooded valley (Glen) along the banks of the Dullan (“standing stone”) and Fiddich rivers. The original distillery is now a workshop to repair stills & various parts for Diageo’s other distilleries. The bottle is blue/green glass & flask-shaped to reflect the style of the bottles of the late 1890s. The emblem on the top of the label is a salmon jumping a fence, which symbolizes the wisdom of the distiller. An interesting side note, is that Glendullan is said to have been the other malt blended with Cardhu when it was attempted to change Cardhu from a single malt to a vatted malt.

    • Doc,
      This is awesome information. Thanks so much for taking the time to share this with everyone here. This is why I love blogging – you can never stop learning & sharing!!! Truly fascinating – thanks!

  • Tom McMillen says:

    Say it ain’t so! I just discovered the Singleton by Glendullan at my local store, Applejacks, on sale for Thanksgiving… it’s my current second favorite, next to Balvenie Doublewood. I hope it isn’t being phased out…
    TMac

  • Brian says:

    I purchased a bottle as an extra Christmas present and luckily my son-in-law opened it before he left. We found it pleasant and easy on the palate. Quite smooth for the price and if I had a bottle of my own, I could see how quickly the finish dissolves as has been stated. He prefers Islay malts but enjoyed this Singleton. Thanks for your review which seems fair. Brian

  • reamogetse mmoiemang says:

    Absolutely the best

  • Greg says:

    About a year ago I tried Singleton 12 and liked it but haven’t bought another bottle since (lots of Scotch to try). So I get a craving for this and can’t find any in stock anywhere 😦 . While out to lunch many miles from home I find 2 bottles in stock so I go get them. I told the owner about his store having the only bottles around. So he calls his distributor and they tell him that Singleton 12 year has been CANCELLED 😦 so sad….

    • Brian says:

      Glad to find someone who likes it besides me. The LCBO (Liquor Board of Ontario) still has it and I will pick up two in a local village, Bobcaygeon, tomorrow I hope. Brian

Love hearing from you! Please comment here:

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Singleton 12 year Single Malt Scotch Whisky of Glendullan at The Whisky Woman.

meta

