Whisk(e)y vs Wine

May 16, 2011 § 4 Comments

Ok, ok – before you start firing up your engines – I want you to know that I’m really not going to take this debate on … yet.

I will, however, say this:

Being a lover of both whisk(e)y and wine, I often find myself leaving a liquor store like so: 1 bottle of whiskey, 2+ bottles of wine (depending on who’s with me to help me carry them home!)

Now here are the facts:  1 bottle of wine lasts 1 night in my home with the occasional double-night stretch.  On the other hand, 1 bottle of whisky will last about 1 month. (side note: in my home, we tend to only open 1-2 different bottles of whisky at a time.  I know in many whisky-loving homes this is not the case and you can easily have upwards of 5 different whiskies opened at a time thus making it harder to know the true timeline of a single bottle).

Obviously there is a difference in how the 2 beverages are consumed – I’m certainly not sipping Jameson with my pasta … although… I digress.

Take into consideration this:  You can buy a great bottle of wine for around $20-$25/bottle.  You can buy a great whisky for around $40-$50/bottle.

Now I know there are all kinds of factors that ought to be taken into consideration, however, I’m choosing to skip over them and simply say this:

For the price of two bottles of wine, I can instead buy myself a beautiful, sweet, spicy, lingering night-cap which will last me 30+ days verses 2.

Whisk(e)y, you have won this round.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Whisk(e)y vs Wine

Love hearing from you! Please comment here:

What’s this?

You are currently reading Whisk(e)y vs Wine at The Whisky Woman.

meta

